AMASX: Round #2 Race Preview - Phoenix (Video)


Supercross Media Press Release:

History repeated itself last Saturday night at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, California when RCH Soaring Eagle/Jimmy John's Suzuki's Ken Roczen won the opening race of the 2015 Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, for the second consecutive season.

Like last year, Roczen will bring the 450SX Class points lead into Phoenix's Chase Stadium this Saturday night. In the Western Regional 250SX Class Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil KTM's Jessy Nelson, who had never made a podium appearance, won the first Main Event of the season and his career.

Some key insights to watch heading into this Saturday night's race include:

- Roczen can become the first Suzuki rider in history to win the first two races of the year.

- With a win this weekend, Eli Tomac or Jason Anderson can join James Stewart and Ryan Dungey as the only riders to win both classes in Phoenix.

- Dungey earned this first 450SX Class win of his career and gave KTM their first-ever win in Phoenix.

- Anderson gave Husqvarna their first podium finish in the 450SX Class since December 4, 1976; can he start a podium streak?

- Davi Millsaps and Tomac, who were considered front runners for the top positions heading into the season, finished 18th and 19th respectively, how will they bounce back?

- Reed, who has two 450SX Class titles, turned in a 10th place finish at the season opener, how will he bounce back?

Nelson's win marked the first win and podium of his career, how will he follow up his performance?

Smartop Motoconcepts Racing's Mike Alessi grabbed the early advantage in the 20-lap 450SX Class Main Event by racing to the Hole-shot Award with BTO Sports KTM's Andrew Short and Roczen in tow. By the end of the opening lap, Roczen secured the lead and rode to the third win of his career.

"Everything has been awesome with the team and it's good to get the first win out of the way, both for myself and for them," said Roczen. "There are a lot of good guys out there so I'll need to stay consistent . It's good to come out of here healthy and we'll just keep the ball rolling."


After winning the Monster Energy Cup back in October, Monster Energy Kawasaki's Millsaps crashed twice in the Main Event, and GEICO Honda's Tomac, followed suit.

Short's hold on second was also short lived as rookie Anderson took over the position aboard his Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing machine on Lap 2. Eventually Team Honda's Trey Canard took third away from Short on Lap 9 and the top three remained the same for the final 11 laps.

Nelson had a perfect start to the Western Regional 250SX Class Main Event as he captured the Hole-shot Award ahead of GEICO Honda's Matt Bisceglia and Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing's Zach Osborne. The rest was history for Nelson as he set a blistering pace for the remainder of the race.

"This is a great way to start season and hopefully there's more to come," said Nelson, who became the 97th different 250SX Class Main Event winner in history. "It was a great night and I can't complain. I think the team's switch to KTM has been huge and I think it's a big part of this. This is just a big shock."

Behind Nelson, Osborne asserted himself into second and ultimately maintained the runner-up spot throughout the entirety of the Main Event. The battle for third, however, became a three-rider showdown in the early stages between Kawasaki's Josh Hansen, Red Bull KTM's Justin Hill and Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki's Tyler Bowers.

Hill was able to make the move past Hansen for the position on Lap 4 and Bowers followed suit a short time later. Hill appeared to have a comfortable margin over Bowers, but the reigning four-time Arenacross Champion closed the gap and eventually made the pass on Lap 10, carrying it through to the finish to claim the final spot on the podium.

During last year's 450SX Class Main Event in Phoenix, Monster Energy Kawasaki's Ryan Villopoto scored the first win of the season and his first-ever win in Phoenix. In the 250SX Class, Anderson won his second consecutive race of the season.

Race Day LIVE - 2015 Anaheim First Round - Ken Roczen Podium Interview:

Western Regional 250SX Class Results: Anaheim

Jessy Nelson, Paso Robles, Calif., KTM

Zach Osborne, Chesterfield, S.C., Husqvarna

Tyler Bowers, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki

Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., KTM

Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, Ohio, Yamaha

Shane McElrath, Canton, N.C., KTM

Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Yamaha

Alex Martin, Millville., Minn., Yamaha

Josh Hansen, Elbert, Colo., Kawasaki

Michael Leib, Menifee, Calif., Honda

Western Regional 250SX Class Season Standings:

Jessy Nelson, Paso Robles, Calif., KTM, 25

Zach Osborne, Chesterfield, S.C., KTM, 22

Tyler Bowers, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki, 20

Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., KTM, 18

Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, Ohio, Yamaha, 16

Shane McElrath, Canton, N.C., KTM, 15

Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Yamaha, 14

Alex Martin, Millville., Minn., Yamaha, 13

Josh Hansen, Elbert, Colo., Kawasaki, 12

Michael Leib, Menifee, Calif., Honda, 11

450SX Class Results: Anaheim

Ken Roczen, Clermont, Fla., Suzuki

Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Husqvarna

Trey Canard, Edmond, Okla., Honda

Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM

Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM

Justin Barcia, Greenville, Fla., Yamaha

Weston Peick, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha

Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki

Mike Alessi, Hilliard, Fla., Suzuki

Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki

450SX Class Season Standings:

Ken Roczen, Clermont, Fla., Suzuki, 25

Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Husqvarna, 22

Trey Canard, Edmond, Okla., Honda, 20

Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 18

Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM, 16

Justin Barcia, Greenville, Fla., Yamaha,15

Weston Peick, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha, 14

Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 13

Mike Alessi, Hilliard, Fla., Suzuki, 12

Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki, 11

Past Winners in Phoenix:

450SX Class:

January 11, 2014: Ryan Villopoto

January 12, 2013: Justin Barcia

January 14, 2012: Ryan Dungey

January 15, 2011: James Stewart

January 15, 2010: Ryan Dungey

January 10, 2009: James Stewart

January 12, 2008: James Stewart

January 13, 2007: James Stewart

January 14, 2006: Ricky Carmichael

January 15, 2005: Ricky Carmichael

January 10, 2004: Kevin Windham

January 11, 2003: Ezra Lusk

January 26, 2002: Ricky Carmichael

January 27, 2001: Ricky Carmichael

January 29, 2000: David Vuillemin

January 23, 1999: Jeremy McGrath

250SX Class:

January 11: Jason Anderson

January 12, 2013: Eli Tomac

January 14, 2012: Dean Wilson

January 15, 2011: Josh Hansen

January 15, 2010: Jake Weimer

January 10, 2009: Ryan Dungey

January 12, 2008: Jake Weimer

January 13, 2007: Christophe Pourcel

January 14, 2006: Nathan Ramsey

January 15, 2005: Broc Helper

January 10, 2004:  Ivan Tedesco

January 11, 2003:  James Stewart

January 26, 2002:  James Stewart

January 27, 2001:  Casey Lytle

January 23, 1999:  Nathan Ramsey

James Stewart and Ricky Carmichael are tied on the all-time 450SX Class win list with four each. Stewart and Nathan Ramsey are tied on the all-time 250SX Class win list with two each.

2015 Supercross Phoenix Kawasaki Dynamic Track Map

Headlining the 2015 Monster Energy Supercross television package will be the first-ever live FOX network broadcast from MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J., on Saturday, April 25 at 3pm E.T. FOX Sports 1 will broadcast 12 races live and FOX Sports 2 will broadcast 3 races live. Each race will include a next-day re-air on FOX Sports 1. In addition, the authenticated FOX Sports Go app will live stream each race.

For more information: