Dungey Dominates, USA Wins

" width=

Dungey lo

Winning at home in front of a partisan crowd is perhaps a racer’s most satisfying achievement. But it also must be one of the most pressure-filled situations that these athletes experience; especially when the race pits nation vs. nation for international bragging rights.

For the 21st time in 64 years, Team USA secured the Chamberlin trophy at the Red Bull FIM Motocross of Nations at Thunder Valley in Lakewood, Colorado. Various hiccups along the way for the team, consisting of 2010 Supercross and Motocross champ Ryan Dungey, Andrew Short and Lites Motocross champion Trey Canard, saw them trailing Team Germany prior to that final race.

The second moto of the day saw Short put in an inspired performance that salvaged the win for the team. Early in the moto a collision with New Zealand’s Ben Townley knocked him to the ground, leaving Short dazed and without a clutch lever. But Short dug deep and remounted, charging back to 13th place “I was pretty dazed because Townley hit me so hard,” said Short. “I was just trying to get everything sorted again and then I got my bike up and realized the clutch lever was gone. I knew I couldn't give up.” Without doubt that effort kept Team USA in the hunt for the win.

" width=

Short lo

A second MX1 victory for Dungey ahead of teammate Short in the final moto sealed the deal. “This weekend was quite amazing,” Dungey said. “The track was rougher and better than yesterday. I felt the pressure from Antonio Cairoli in the beginning, but the line choice increased as the race went on. This is right at the top considering what I have won this year. Everything must go right to win at this event. It is hard to put into words, but it's like the experience of a lifetime. I felt like we really stuck together as a team and that helped a lot. We never quit and always kept pushing. I want to thank the team and everyone behind us.”

" width=

Short Dungey lo

The Belgium team of Steve Ramon, Jeremy Van Horebeek and Clement Desalle took second with Team Germany’s Ken Roczen, Max Nagl and Marcus Schiffer hanging onto third. Next year the event returns to France for the 65th edition.