World Superbike Magny-Cours France race results

Biaggi and Crutchlow split wins in WSBK season finale

Cal Crutchlow, Max Biaggi, Magny-Cours 2010

Aprilia Alitalia’s Max Biaggi and Yamaha Sterilgarda’s Cal Crutchlow both took a race win at the final World Superbike event of the season at Magny-Cours, France. In Race One, Crutchlow passed early leader Biaggi to swiftly pull out a gap and eventually win by 3.779 seconds. The intense battle for the remaining placings behind Crutchlow went down to the final chicane, with Alstare Suzuki’s Leon Haslam and Althea Ducati’s Carlos Checa forcing Biaggi off the podium. Biaggi’s fourth place was still enough to give Aprilia the Manufacturer’s Championship, in addition to the Italian’s Riders Championship that was clinched last weekend at Imola.

“It was a weird race for me really,” Crutchlow said, “leading from the front for most of the race. I didn’t think anybody would break away, Max seemed to be holding the group up so I though let’s get in front of him. I thought he or the group would come with me, but managed to pull out a gap. All credit to Sterilgarda Yamaha, we did a good job in this race.”

Championship runner-up Leon Haslam was happy to finally turn around his lack of fortune. “We’ve not had the best of weekends, qualifying in tenth place but I got a good start and had a fantastic battle with loads of different guys. To catch Max and be in that position on the last lap I had to have a go. Imola was going through my mind, the first race when I went off, but I made it stick this time and I’m really happy for Alstare and the boys.”

Carlos Checa thanked Haslam for giving him the opportunity to pass Biaggi for third. “A big thanks to Leon for the third place! It was an exciting race and I thought I could get the podium, I was fighting for second and Max passed me and Leon, I got involved in that group but it was difficult. After I see the fighting between Leon and Max, I see Max open the line, touch the corner and I thought this is my opportunity, I had better drive and on the exit I got the third place. It was fantastic, a real surprise and a nice result.”

In Race Two, Biaggi once again took to the front, but this time was able to hold off a determined Crutchlow at the finish line by a scant 0.087 seconds. Ducati Xerox’s Michel Fabrizio gave the team a parting gift (Ducati is pulling its factory team out of WSBK for ’11) by forcing his way past Alstare Suzuki’s Sylvain Guintoli at the chicane for third.

“My condition was bad all weekend,” complained Biaggi, “I had a bit of high fever. Race 1 was not so bad but I couldn’t breathe properly. Race 2 I wanted to finish on the podium, I pushed very hard, had a little moment halfway through. I tried to not make any mistakes. We wanted to make a good result for the end of the year and I’m proud of helping Aprilia to win the Manufacturers’ title.”

“It was a close race, enjoyable for me,” Crutchlow said afterward. “I had to catch up from a bad start. All credit to Max he rode fantastic. It was an incredible race win, I couldn’t do anything about it. He won the championship so to be battling with him at the end it’s been good for me. I came into the championship with high expectations, and I’m pleased with the fifth place overall.”

The now-unemployed Fabrizio thanked Ducati before embarking on his search for another ride. “It was a great battle with Guintoli. I really wanted the podium both for myself and for my team, so I could finish the season off well with them. I’d like to thank Ducati for the last three years, as well as the team, it’s been great. Now I have to look to the future!”

World Superbike Magny-Cours Race One results:
1. Cal Crutchlow (GBR) Yamaha
2. Leon Haslam (GBR) Suzuki
3. Carlos Checa (SPA) Ducati
4. Max Biaggi (ITA) Aprilia
5. Jakub Smrz (CZE) Aprilia
6. Michel Fabrizio (ITA) Ducati
7. Nori Haga (JPN) Ducati
8. Tom Sykes (GBR) Kawasaki
9. Shane Byrne (GBR) Ducati
10. Luca Scassa (ITA) Ducati
World Superbike Magny-Cours Race Two results:
1. Max Biaggi (ITA) Aprilia
2. Cal Crutchlow (GBR) Yamaha
3. Michel Fabrizio (ITA) Ducati
4. Sylvain Guintoli (FRA) Suzuki
5. Nori Haga (JPN) Ducati
6. Jakub Smrz (CZE) Aprilia
7. Luca Scassa (ITA) Ducati
8. Shane Byrne (GBR) Ducati
9. Carlos Checa (SPA) Ducati
10. Leon Haslam (GBR) Suzuki