Tom Sykes Takes Superpole At Phillip Island

Sykes sets fastest World Superbike lap around the Island to earn 31st-career pole

Phillip Island Superpole
The top three in the first World Superbike Superpole of 2016: (Left to Right) Davide Giugliano, Tom Sykes and Jonathan Rea.Photo Courtesy of press

It was an exciting last run for pole position of the World Superbike season opener at Phillip Island, and the man to take it was Kawasaki Racing Team’s Tom Sykes. Sykes laid down a blistering 1:30.020, the fastest ever World Superbike lap around the seaside Australian circuit. It was also the Superpole specialist’s 31st career pole, moving Sykes closer to Troy Corser’s all-time record of 43. Ducati’s Davide Giugliano was a .078 of a second behind and completing the front was Sykes’ teammate Jonathan Rea with a 1:30.170.

Early leader Sylvain Guintoli was shuffled back to fourth. Joining him on the second row of the grid in fifth was teammate Alex Lowes, a good effort for the Pata Yamaha squad with the new R1's World Superbike debut.

Following the Pata Yamaha’s was Honda World Superbike Team’s Michael van der Mark and Nicky Hayden. In eighth was Lorenzo Savadori on IodaRacing Team Aprilia. And rounding out the top 10 was Giugliano’s teammate Chaz Davies and MV Agusta Reparto Corse’s Leon Camier.

2016 World Superbike Phillip Island Qualifying Results:

  1. Tom Sykes (GBR) Kawasaki Racing Team 1:30.020

  2. Davide Giugliano (ITA) Racing Ducati 1:30.098

  3. Jonathan Rea (GBR) Kawasaki Racing Team 1:30.170

  4. Sylvain Guintoli (FRA) Pata Yamaha Official WSBK Team 1:30.281

  5. Alex Lowes (GBR) Pata Yamaha Official WSBK Team 1:30.354

  6. Michael van der Mark (NED) Honda World Superbike Team 1:30.468

  7. Nicky Hayden (USA) Honda World Superbike Team 1:30.479

  8. Lorenzo Savadori (ITA) IodaRacing Team Aprilia 1:30.609

  9. Chaz Davies (GBR) Racing Ducati 1:30.717

  10. Leon Camier (GBR) MV Agusta Reparto Corse 1:30.795

  11. Markus Reiterberger (GER) Althea BMW Racing Team 1:31.031

  12. Jordi Torres (ESP) Althea BMW Racing Team 1:31.207

  13. Xavi Fores (ESP) Barni Racing Team Ducati 1:31.871

  14. Josh Brookes (AUS) Milwaukee BMW 1:31.927

  15. Sylvain Barrier (FRA) Pedercini Kawasaki 1:32.077

  16. Karel Abraham (CZE) Milwaukee BMW 1:32.117

  17. Ramon Ramos (ESP) Team GoEleven Kawasaki 1:32.194

  18. Alex de Angelis (RSM) IodaRacing Team Aprilia 1:33.507

  19. Dominic Schmitter (SUI) Grillini Racing Team Kawasaki 1:33.664

  20. Saeed Al Sulaiti (QAT) Pedercini Kawasaki 1:33.690

  21. Mike Jones (AUS) Desmo Sport Ducati 1:33.722

  22. Peter Sebestyen (HUN) Team Toth Yamaha 1:34.346

  23. Imre Toth (HUN) Team Toth Yamaha 1:36.272