MotoGP To Run Catalan Grand Prix As Scheduled With F1 Track Configuration

The MotoGP paddock mourns the loss of Moto2 rider Luis Salom

Luis Salom 2016
The MotoGP Paddock mourns the loss of Moto2 rider Luis Salom, but with the blessing of his family will continue with the Catalan Grand Prix.Photo Courtesy of MotoGP

Day one of the Catalan Grand Prix was overshadowed by the loss of Moto2 rider Luis Salom, who succumbed to injuries sustained in a crash during FP2 at turn 12 of the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. With the blessing of the Salom family, it was agreed among the riders, teams and the Safety Commission that the Catalan Grand Prix will carry on.

In light of safety concerns, a Safety Commission meeting was held with Marc Marquez, Andrea Iannone, Pol Espargaro, Jack Miller, Bradley Smith, Alvaro Bautista, Aleix Espargaro, Andrea Dovizioso, Tito Rabat and Cal Crutchlow in attendance. The end result was to run the F1 track configuration for the remainder of the weekend in efforts to slow down the entry into turn 12, which lacks a complete gravel-run-off section.

This layout was tested two years ago in an official MotoGP Test, but was vetoed back for Grand Prix Racing as it was deemed less attractive and demanding in terms of sport than the traditional layout. To bring riders up to speed with the all-new track configuration, FP3 will be extended 15 minutes.

Movistar Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo sits on provisional pole ahead of FP1 fast man Maverick Vinales on the Team Suzuki Ecstar machine. LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow rounded out the top three.

Jorge Lorenzo 2016
Jorge Lorenzo starts the weekend on top of the time sheets in MotoGP.Photo Courtesy of Yamaha

2016 MotoGP Catalunya Day One Combined Results:

  1. Jorge Lorenzo (SPA) Movistar Yamaha 1:41.712

  2. Maverick Vinales (SPA) Team Suzuki Ecstar 1:41.954

  3. Cal Crutchlow (GBR) LCR Honda 1:42.011

  4. Dani Pedrosa (SPA) Repsol Honda 1:42.196

  5. Scott Redding (GBR) Octo Pramac Yakhnich Ducati 1:42.282

  6. Valentino Rossi (ITA) Movistar Yamaha 1:42.296

  7. Hector Barbera (SPA) Avintia Ducati 1:42.308

  8. Andrea Iannone (ITA) Ducati 1:42.461

  9. Marc Marquez (SPA) Repsol Honda 1:42.485

  10. Andrea Dovizioso (ITA) Ducati 1:42.490

  11. Yonny Hernandez (COL) Aspar Honda 1:42.516

  12. Aleix Espargaro (SPA) Team Suzuki Ecstar 1:42.539

  13. Pol Espargaro (SPA) Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:42.709

  14. Danilo Petrucci (ITA) Octo Pramac Yakhnich Ducati 1:42.830

  15. Eugene Laverty (IRL) Aspar Ducati 1:42.870

  16. Alvaro Bautista (SPA) Aprilia 1:43.180

  17. Michele Pirro (ITA) Avintia Ducati 1:43.461

  18. Bradley Smith (GBR) Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:43.470

  19. Stefan Bradl (GER) Aprilia 1:43.502

  20. Jack Miller (AUS) Marc VDS Honda 1:43.621

  21. Tito Rabat (SPA) EG 0.0 Marc VDS 1:43.648