Isle Of Man TT: Michael Dunlop Dominates Day Four

Dunlop the first one of the week to break into the 132-mph mark

Michael Dunlop 2016
Michael Dunlop tops both Isle of Man TT Superbike and Superstock qualifying on day four.Photo Courtesy of Kneen at Pacemaker Press International

Michael Dunlop made a statement at the Isle of Man TT. The Hawk Racing BMW rider became the first to break into the 132-mph mark, throwing down a 132.36-mph lap in Thursday evening’s Superbike qualifying. The icing on the cake for the younger Dunlop brother was an unofficial lap record in the Superstock class with his lap of 131.34 mph.

In second was Ian Hutchison. The Tyco BMW rider was flying on his second lap but jut when it looked like he’d post a 132-mph+ lap, his pace dropped on the second half of the lap eventually stopping the clocks at 131.11 mph. Honda Racing’s John McGuinness was also above the 131-mph barrier with his fastest lap of the week - 131.12 mph.

McGuinness’ teammate Conor Cummins was once again fourth followed by Silicone Engineering Kawasaki’s Dean Harrison. James Hillier ended the night sixth on the Quattro Plant Muc-Off Kawasaki.

In seventh was East Coast Construction Burdens BMW’s Lee Johnston ahead of fellow BMW rider, Bathams SMT Racing’s Michael Rutter. Norton’s David Johnson was ninth and went into the books for setting the brand’s fastest lap at the circuit at 127.74 mph. Rounding out the top 10 was William Dunlop on the IC Racing Caffrey International Yamaha.

Bruce Anstey’s evening ended with a spill at Keppel Gate and although he was reported to be unhurt the Padgett’s Honda rider was taken by air med for a precautionary check over. He is expected to line up in tomorrow’s final qualifying session.

2016 Isle of Man TT Thursday, June 2, Fastest Laps

Superbike Qualifying

  1. Michael Dunlop (BMW) 132.365

  2. Ian Hutchison (BMW) 131.661

  3. John McGuinness (Honda) 131.116

  4. Conor Cummins (Honda) 129.986

  5. Dean Harrison (Kawasaki) 129.968

  6. James Hillier (Kawasaki) 128.555

  7. Lee Johnston (BMW) 128.342

  8. Michael Rutter (BMW) 128.340

  9. David Johnson (Norton) 128.323

  10. William Dunlop (Yamaha) 128.000