First list of Moto2 teams accepted for 2011

Teams association approves first group of Moto2 teams for next year

Toni Elias Moto2 France

2010/05/23 - mgp - Round03 - Le Mans - Moto2 - Toni Elias - Gresini Racing - Moriwaki - ActionAndrew Northcott

MOTEGI, JAPAN, OCT 2 – If the number of hopeful entries for next year is any judge, the inaugural year of the Moto2 World Championship has been a rousing success.

Moto2 was designed as an affordable world championship with a number of control parts and the concept has proven a reality. Honda supplies the engine and ECU’s, through partner Geo Technologies, Eskil Suter supplies the clutches, and Dunlop supplies the tires. A team can race the entire season on as little as $600,000 to $700,000, though the better heeled teams spend far more than that. One big advantage of the class is that the frames are owned by the teams, which means they can amortize the cost over a period of years. And some of the teams, including Tech 3, build their own frames.

The FIM announced that 36 teams had applied for 61 potential grid spots, a much greater number than applied this year. Of those, 15 teams, comprising 29 riders, were accepted. A number of other teams will be considered in the future, while others were outright refused. Many of the latter were existing teams competing in other classes or championships.

Now the accepted teams have until October 30 to confirm their riders and pay a security deposit with teams association IRTA. To ensure stability in the class, the deposit will cover five years, with the teams receiving a portion of their deposit back after each season.

Notable among those accepted are Gresini Racing, which fields championship leader Toni Elias; Mapfre Aspar, which runs Julian Simon, second in the championship; Tech 3, the minor league team of Monster Energy Yamaha Tech 3; Speed Up, whose rider Andrea Iannone is a close third in the championship with three wins; and MZ, the German team which has had a volatile year with Anthony West, and which will campaign two riders in 2011. Interwetten Moriwaki Moto2, which is fielding Swiss rider Thomas Luthi this year, is the only currently accepted team with one rider.

This year’s grids have generally been around or just over 40 riders, when wild cards are included. It’s believed the grids next year will be slightly smaller.

Forward Racing
Gresini Racing
Interwetten Moriwaki Moto2
Jack & Jones by A. Banderas
JIR Moto2
Mapfre Aspar Team
Marc VDS Racing
MZ Motor
Racing Team By Quereseno
Speed Up
Stop and Go Racing Team
Tech 3 Racing
Technomag CIP
Tenerife 40 Pons
Viessman Kiefer Racing