MotoGP: Round #13 Repsol Honda Race Preview - Misano

Marc Marquez race action shot

Repsol Honda Media Press Release:

This weekend the MotoGP paddock is en route to San Marino for round thirteen of the 2014 World Championship.

Misano, renamed in 2012 as the ‘Marco Simoncelli Circuit’, underwent a major modification for the 2007 season, when the racing direction changed from clockwise to counter-clockwise. Popular with both riders and spectators, it’s 4.18km in length and features five left turns and nine rights.

Repsol Honda riders Marc Marquez and Dani Pedrosa are currently leading the Championship and will arrive in Misano full of confidence. Marc, who has won 11 of the 12 races this season, has an incredible record here in Misano, taking victory in 2012 and 2011 (Moto2) and also in 2010 (125cc) and finished 2nd last year on his maiden visit on the MotoGP machine. Dani has also enjoyed good results here with one victory (2010) a 2nd place (2011) and a two 3rd places (2013, 2009).

Marc Marquez race action shot

Marc Marquez #93:

1st - 288 points

"It was nice to be back on the top step of the podium in Silverstone, the team did a great job the whole weekend. Now we head to Misano which is a smaller and slower track compared to others on the calendar. We will have to work hard from Friday to get the setup on the bike just right, to suit the demands on braking at this twisty track and let’s hope the weather is also nice!"

Dani Pedrosa race action shot

**Dani Pedrosa #26


2nd - 199 points

"I’m looking forward to Misano this weekend! There is always a nice crowd over the three days and a good atmosphere with the Italian fans. Hopefully we’ll have good weather from the Friday and get things going in the right direction. It’s a short lap but intense with many overtaking points and it's quite bumpy, so set up is key. Let’s hope for an exciting race!"

Circuit Information:

Length:     4.226 m / 2.626 miles

Width:     14m

Left corners:     6

Right corners:     10

Longest straight:     565 m / 0.351 miles

Constructed:     1969

Modified Circuit: 2008

Pole Position:    1m 32.915s (163.7 km/h) Marc Marquez (Honda, 2013)

Race lap:     1m 33.906s (162.008km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha, 2011)

Race time:     44m 05.522s (161.0 km/h) Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha, 2013)

2012 Winner:    Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha)

2013 Winner:    Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha)

For more information: Repsol Honda Team