Enduro: Round #4 KTM Race Report - Park Hills, Mo

Charlie Mullins race action shot

KTM Racing Press Release:

The Factory FMF/KTM racing star, Charlie Mullins, took his fourth win of the AMA National Enduro Series to remain undefeated as the series reaches the halfway point.

Mullins got off to a great start taking a commanding test win in the opening section. He followed that victory with another first place test score in the second test section. On the third section, Mullins got turned around on the trail and lost some time finishing the section with the fifth fastest time. On the fourth section, he encountered a rear brake problem and turned another fifth place time.

Grant Baylor race action shot

With two tests to go, Mullins returned to his winning ways and earned the fastest section time in both tests. At the end of the six tests, he took the victory by more than a minute and thirty seconds over the next closest competitor.

“I’m really excited with how I am riding at the National Enduros this year,” stated Mullins. “The course was pretty rocky today but I enjoyed it and I am glad to gain another win.”

His teammate, Grant Baylor, finished just outside the top five in each test section and earned 7th overall. Eight-time National Enduro Champion, Mike Lafferty, finished 8th overall. Lafferty started strong but suffered a hard crash in the third test which cost him a lot of time and shook him up for the remainder of the race. The final member of the Factory FMF/KTM Team, Steward Baylor, did not race this round as he is still out healing from a concussion injury suffered earlier this year.

Now four rounds into the series, Mullins holds a 40 point lead in the championship point standings.

Charlie Mullins Podium shot

Next Event: Arrington, VA – June 1, 2014

Overall Results:

1.    Charlie Mullins – KTM

2.    Nick Fahringer

3.    Andrew Delong

4.    Brad Bakken

** 5.    Jesse Groemm – KTM**

6.    Cory Buttrick

** 7.    Grant Baylor – KTM**

** 8.    Mike Lafferty – KTM**

9.    Ryder Lafferty

10.    Craig Delong

Overall Point Standings:

1.    Charlie Mullins – 120

2.    Nick Fahringer – 80

3.    Jesse Groemm – 73

For more information: www.ktm.com