AMASX: Round #8 Suzuki Racing Report - Atlanta, GA (Video)

James Stewart race action shot

Yoshiumura Suzuki Press Release:

Yoshimura Suzuki Factory Racing's James Stewart was the epitome of determination at round eight of the 2014 AMA/FIM Supercross Championships at Atlanta's Georgia Dome on Saturday night. Stewart bounced back from a lap-one get-off, racing his Yoshimura Suzuki RM-Z450 through the field to 11th place by race's end. Despite the challenging circumstances of the evening, Stewart still held on to third place in the overall championship points.

Although the main event didn’t go as Stewart had hoped, the overall Atlanta race was a good one for the Yoshimura Suzuki rider. He qualified fastest in practice and led all six laps of his heat race to take the win. In the main event, Stewart got a good launch on his Yoshimura Suzuki RM-Z450 and was running up front before the end of lap one. Unfortunately, he lost the front end and went down and had to work his way through the field from dead last. Despite the overwhelming odds, Stewart still managed to secure a respectable finish.

James Stewart race action shot

“I came across the start straight and lost the front end going into the corner,” said Stewart. “I’m bummed. I was riding good all day and felt great going into the main event, but you can’t win when you’re on the ground. I did my best to come back but the track was super-slippery, so the harder I rode, the slower I went. I was just happy to get back up and salvage as many points as I could. But I’m still confident and feeling good about my riding and I have to thank the Yoshimura Suzuki team for working so hard. We’re all disappointed but we’ll go back and get ready to come back strong for Indy.”

Yoshimura Suzuki Factory Racing’s next event is the ninth round of the 2014 AMA/FIM Supercross Championships on Saturday, March 1st, at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, IN.


Atlanta 450 Supercross Results:

1.  Ken Roczen

2.  Ryan Villopoto

3.  Ryan Dungey

4.  William Hahn

5.  Justin Brayton

6.  Mike Alessi

7.  Broc Tickle

8.  Weston Peick

9.  Josh Grant

10. Andrew Short

2014 450 Supercross Standings:

1.  Ryan Villopoto – 166

2.  Ken Roczen – 157

3.  James Stewart – 140

4.  Ryan Dungey – 136

5.  Justin Brayton – 130

6.  Chad Reed – 111

7.  Justin Barcia – 109

8.  Andrew Short – 94

9.  Will Hahn – 83

10. Broc Tickle – 77

For more information: