MotoGP: Australian GP Results

" width=


Yamaha Factory Racing Press Release:

Starting from second on the grid, Lorenzo took the hole-shot from the start line, but dropped to third initially behind Championship rival Dani Pedrosa and Casey Stoner. As the leading pack ran through turn four Pedrosa crashed out, leaving Stoner and Lorenzo to break away. The Championship leader delivered a textbook race of inch perfect laps, maintaining the gap to Cal Crutchlow chasing in third, eventually crossing the line in second to claim the 2012 MotoGP Rider’s title.

This puts Lorenzo on 350 points, 43 clear of Pedrosa going into the final round. Over the season The World Champion amassed an impressive six race wins and ten second place finishes to secure the title. He now heads to his home race free from the pressure to win and happy to deliver one last race of the year in front of his home crowd.

Jorge Lorenzo

“What a day! I’m very happy, it was easier than I expected because Dani made a mistake in a corner and crashed. I wanted to keep with Casey but he was so strong. Today all I had to do was finish the race and I have become World Champion for the second time. It’s such a sweet feeling!  I want to thank all the team, Yamaha, my family, my friends, sponsors and fans that support me. Today is an amazing moment. We’ve been very patient, very concentrated and finally the World title arrives!”

" width=


Australian GP Results:

1 1 Casey STONER AUS Repsol Honda Team Honda

2 99 Jorge LORENZO SPA Yamaha Factory Racing Yamaha

3 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha

4 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha

5 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA San Carlo Honda Gresini Honda

6 6 Stefan BRADL GER LCR Honda MotoGP Honda

7 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Ducati Team Ducati

8 69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Ducati Team Ducati

9 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Cardion AB Motoracing Ducati

10 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Power Electronics Aspar ART

11 14 Randy DE PUNIET FRA Power Electronics Aspar ART

12 8 Hector BARBERA SPA Pramac Racing Team Ducati

13 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Came IodaRacing Project Ioda Suter

14 51 Michele PIRRO ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini FTR

15 22 Ivan SILVA SPA Avintia Blusens BQR

MotoGP Final Standings:

1    Jorge LORENZO    Yamaha    SPA    350

2    Dani PEDROSA    Honda    SPA    307

3    Casey STONER    Honda    AUS    238

4    Andrea DOVIZIOSO    Yamaha    ITA    208

5    Alvaro BAUTISTA    Honda    SPA    165

6    Valentino ROSSI    Ducati    ITA    157

7    Cal CRUTCHLOW    Yamaha    GBR    151

8    Stefan BRADL    Honda    GER    135

9    Nicky HAYDEN    Ducati    USA    122

10    Ben SPIES    Yamaha    USA    88

11    Hector BARBERA    Ducati    SPA    83

12    Aleix ESPARGARO    ART    SPA    69

13    Randy DE PUNIET    ART    FRA    58

14    Karel ABRAHAM    Ducati    CZE    50

15    Michele PIRRO    FTR    ITA    32

16    James ELLISON    ART    GBR    28

17    Yonny HERNANDEZ    BQR    COL    28

18    Colin EDWARDS    Suter    USA    25

19    Danilo PETRUCCI    Ioda-Suter    ITA    19

20    Jonathan REA    Honda    GBR    17

21    Mattia PASINI    ART    ITA    13

22    Ivan SILVA    BQR    SPA    12

23    Toni ELIAS    Ducati    SPA    10

24    Katsuyuki NAKASUGA    Yamaha    JPN    7

25    Steve RAPP    APR    USA    2

26    David SALOM    BQR    SPA    1

For more information: