AMA MX: Awards will recognize riders’ efforts during 2012 Pro Motocross Championship

" width=

MX Sports Pro Racing Press Release:

MX Sports Pro Racing has announced the competition awards for the 2012 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing. The Ricky Carmichael Hard Charger Award and the Oakley Bomb Fastest Lap Program will acknowledge riders at each of the 12 Nationals for their spectacular efforts.

The RC Hard Charger Award is entering its fourth season. Named after Ricky Carmichael, the winningest motocross rider of all time, the award recognizes the one competitor at each national who overtakes the highest number of his fellow racers in one of the four championship motos between the 250 and 450 Classes.

The award is a testament to “The Greatest of All Time” or “The GOAT” and his never-give-up attitude over the span of his career that warranted 10 Lucas Oil Motocross titles and 102 wins – two feats that will likely never be duplicated. All recipients of the RC Hard Charger Award are given a unique “RC4” trophy, which is handed out at the following event’s riders meeting to the acknowledgement of his peers.

The Oakley Bomb Fastest Lap Program is designed to present a unique challenge for the 2012 season. In years past, riders have been recognized for posting the fastest lap in a race, but the Oakley Bomb program will provide a different twist by recognizing the rider who sets the fastest practice lap in both the 250 and 450 Classes. The winning riders will receive an exclusive Oakley Bomb trophy, designed to reflect the brand’s irreverent personality, unrivaled design and hard-charging attitude of purpose beyond reason.

As the season wears on, the total number of Oakley Bomb awards a rider receives will be tallied into a final season total. The competitor with the most awards at season’s end will be presented with an Elite Oakley Time Bomb II Swiss Automatic Watch.

The 2012 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship kicks off this Saturday, May 19, with the FMF Hangtown Motocross Classic in Sacramento. The world’s best riders will wage war over the course of 12 rounds of action on the most renowned motocross tracks in the country, visiting 10 states along the way.

For more information: