Flat Track Results: Halbert Goes Back-to-Back at Castle Rock TT

" width=

AMA Pro Racing Press Release:

Being from the state of Washington, Sammy Halbert did not disappoint his hometown crowd as he won tonight's AMA Pro Grand National Championship race at Castle Rock Race Park in a landslide. A large mass of viewers all over the nation, as well as a packed house in Castle Rock, Wash. witnessed Sammy Halbert kick off the second half of the season with a win. Halbert was last year's winner at this very race and is the first rider to win two races this season in AMA Pro Flat Track's premier class.

"This is awesome, I have to give it up to the local crowd for coming out, you guys fired me up and helped me get the win." Halbert said. "I just got a good start and stayed focused the whole time. It feels great. We got to keep this thing rolling; I'm fired up and want to carry this momentum to next race."

Coming off a solid restart after Brandon Robinson bit the dust, Halbert took the lead and never looked back as he was the clear-cut winner and was barely contested the entire way. With five laps remaining, Jared Mees was the only rider in Halbert's vicinity but was never really a threat as Halbert continued his dominance at Castle Rock Race Park and got to enjoy the sweet taste of victory for the second time this season. Mees and Jake Johhson closed out the podium, respectively. Jethro Halbert, Sammy's brother, claimed the fourth slot of the main event with J.D. Beach closing out the top five.

2012 Current Standings (GNC Combined)

1     Jared Mees

2     Jake Johnson

3     Sammy Halbert

4     Bryan Smith

5     Johnny Lewis

6     Jeffrey Carver Jr.

7     Brad Baker

8     Henry Wiles

9     Matt Weidman

10     Jethro Halbert

11     Briar Bauman

12     Kenny Coolbeth, Jr.

13     Brandon Robinson

14     JD Beach

15     Steven Bonsey

16     Robert Pearson

17     Willie McCoy

18     Shawn Baer

19     Mikey Rush

20     Doug Lawrence

AMA Pro Motorcycle-Superstore.com Pro Singles

As for the single engines, Jacob Lehmann took advantage of several restarts and claimed his first ever career victory.  After Wyatt Maguire's crash called out a red flag, Lehmann shot out of the restart like a torpedo and maintained the lead for the entire race. Second place finisher Rodney Spencer was Lehmann's only competition of the night as they both ran away from the pack and were neck and neck for the final three laps. The battle for third also proved to be an intense race as Dominic Collindres edged Jake Shoemaker and Garret Callies to close out the podium.

"I just came out hoping that I can at least come in the top ten and make the main event." Lehmann said. "I got lucky on the restart and I was just thinking please don't red flag it again. I was just trying to get a gap on the last few laps so I could have room to breathe but Spencer just kept creeping up on me."

2012 Current Standings (Pro Singles)

1     Gerit Callies

2     Ryan Wells

3     Jake Shoemaker

4     Jason Isennock

5     Stephen Vanderkuur

6     Shayna Texter

7     Hunter Taylor

8     Wyatt Maguire

9     Adam Bushman

10     Dominic Colindres

11     James Monaco

12     Zakk Palmer

13     Jake Cunningham

14     Eric Stump

15     Hayden Gillim

16     John Long III

17     Michael Bickerton

18     Ryan Foster

19     Jake Quick

20     Jacob Lehmann

Next Up:

The stars of AMA Pro Flat Track will return to Peoria, Illinois on August 11, 2012 for another TT event.

For more information: www.amaproracing.com